July 23, 2009

  • Nepal Project’09 – It’s all about who you know


    July 23, 2009

    7:50AM Kathmandu time

     

    It is another cool and sunny morning here in
    Kathmandu.  The majority of the team,
    including Sofia, are still fast asleep after a fun night of partying and celebrating
    the orphans’ collective birthday yesterday night.  For 4 of them, this has been a tradition for
    3 years now, something that they use to mark their ages and also their new
    lives here with the Sapkota family; something that the newer orphans will appreciate
    increasingly as they grow older and stronger under the caring eyes of this
    organization and family.

     

    Yesterday was an interesting day for me
    emotionally.  There is much I still need
    to sit and percolate on before I should say what they are, but the process did
    bring me back to a fundamental truth that I hold for my own life.  It’s all about who you know.

     

    Ever since I became involved with the HOPE project, I’ve
    kept this reality in the back of my mind. 
    My relationship to the Sapkota family is in direct relationship with
    Mike Chen.  I was introduced to them
    through him and their tender treatment of me as a friend is because of their
    trusting relationship with Mike.  If it
    wasn’t for Mike, I would have never met them, nor would I have any sort of
    relationship with them.  Even if I gave
    money to their cause; sent clothes, toys, school supplies for the orphans;
    became a fan of their cause on Facebook; it doesn’t mean I have a relationship
    with them, a real interpersonal relationship with them.  The reason why I am connected to them and
    their organization is because of Mike Chen. 
    My relationship with him thus is the conduit that connected me to this
    family and what will always link me to them and be told in our history
    together.

     

    So it is with my relationship to the Father.  It was only through my Lord & Savior that
    I could ever approach the Father.  It was
    only because of what Jesus had done that made the relationship with the Father,
    the adoption and taking me in as a real son of His, a reality.  It is only because of the grace that the Son
    has extended to me, the invitation from Jesus, that made the connection to the
    Father possible.  As Jesus put it
    Himself, I can only come to the Father through Him, because He is MY WAY.

     

    My connection with the Father will forever be linked to
    my relationship through His Son.  The
    most amazing thing about this, is after all these years, the Son still accepts
    me despite my many character flaws, failures, hurts that I’ve inflicted on those
    that He loved and accepted.  In the face
    of the many slaps, spits, pushes that I’ve given Him through my years as a
    screaming follower, He still forgives. 
    He still welcomes;  He’s still
    here, within me.  How can one not love
    Him?  How can one not be in awe of such
    grace?

     

    Relationship and trust; things that the human soul
    needs; things that the Son gives to all who accepts;  things He longs for us to emulate with others
    too;

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *