April 5, 2009

  • What a beautiful picture

    Yesterday (04.04.09) was the observance of Ching Ming, AKA Chinese Memorial Day, in which Chinese families all over the world are expected to visit the graves or memorials of their ancestors and pay their respects.  Since this is our first year as a married couple, it was important for Sofia to come with my family for her first time in visiting my paternal grandfather’s grave today and pay our respects.

    Afterwards, my immediate family ate at Victoria Seafood where we bumped into some friends from BCEC.  Turned out that there was a multi collegiate acappella concert later in the evening and we decided to attend as some of my former students were performing.  Plus, it’s been over 4+ years since I attended an acappella concert, so I was excited to go.

    The music was fantastic and the atmosphere was definitely jovial.  The best moment for me personally was at the very end when all the singers gathered together to sing one last song, “Let Everything That Has Breathe.”  It really was a beautiful picture, seeing maybe close to 70+ people singing in harmony with each other.

    It was a shadow of an image I have in mind whenever I think about what heaven & earth will be like when all the redeemed gather around that Throne and sing for our King.  I often think our typical pictures of heaven are too bland and monolithic.  What I saw tonight at that concert was a glimpse of what I honestly believe heaven will be like.

    Each singer on that stage sang in perfect harmony with each other, but each person contributed his or her personal touch to it.  So it will be on that day when all of us gather.  Multitude upon multitude will sing as one voice…diversity and unity living hand and hand.  Each of our creativeness, personality, passion, and heart will be part of our individual praise…that fits in harmony with everyone’s else.  What a thought and what a day that will be like.

    To paraphrase Twila Paris, each person’s personal sacrifice of worship contributes to the corporate worship of the body of Christ.  Tonight’s concert reminded me of that and provided a very awesome glimpse as they sang in harmony, diversity, and unity.  Hats off to them all!

Comments (3)

  • Kudos to unity and harmony! Thanks for blogging about the Chinese Memorial Day :) I’m Hispanic… and we do that ever November 1 :) It’s called The Day of The Dead…

  • this entry made me happy :)

    yay BiDB! :)

  • Hello Life Star,
    You made your site simple yet elegant. I see that you have a wide variety of interests and observations here!
    I’m sending an important message to people from Jehovah God that is in the Bible: “…I am about to shake up everything, to turn everything upside down and start over from top to bottom – overthrow governments, destroy foreign powers, dismantle the world of weapons and armaments, throw armies into confusion, so that they end up killing one another.” (Haggai 2:21,22) (MSG)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *